ASUC in bold with Student Membership Fee Referendum Visual over text

Student Membership Fee Referendum Voted Down


In the 2013-2014 Associated Students UCSF (ASUC) elections, professional students rejected the Student Membership Fee increase by a 14-point margin. 

ASUC, representing students enrolled in the Schools of Dentistry, Medicine and Pharmacy, sponsored a referendum to increase the quarterly ASUC membership fee by $11.  The referendum was held in an online vote from April 1-12, at the same time as the ASUC Executive Board elections.

The referendum’s defeat will result in a 25 percent reduction in the funding for current Registered Clubs and Organizations (RCOs), in addition to funding for ASUC and school governments.  

The current membership fee is $17 per quarter. There has been no increase in the ASUC fee since 2002. The proposed fee is $28 per quarter (not including summer, when there is no fee charged) and reflects the increased use of funding by the Registered Clubs and Organizations (RCOs), from 67 percent to 99 percent.

Because there are 120 current RCOs funded for diverse programs, events and interests, demand has remained high for the funding ASUC offers.

Since 2010, the ASUC has dipped into its reserves to maintain funding levels, and now, that reserve is depleted. 

In the ASUC Executive Board elections, the following students were elected to ASUC positions:

  • President — Austin Walker  
  • Vice President, Academic Affairs  — Harjus Birk
  • Vice President, Community Health — Polina Pulyanina
  • Vice President, Community Relations — Joy Chang 
  • Vice President, External Affairs — William Kim

Nicole LaMantia and Justin Becerra will share the office of Vice President, Student Affairs, which monitors all aspects of student life and will represent ASUC on student service advisory and campus event planning committees.

ASUC will be taking applications for the open position of Executive Vice President, which carries out the duties of the President in his/her absence and is the Chief Financial Officer of ASUC. More information to come.