Appointments and Awards


Sam Hawgood, MBBS, was confirmed in July as UCSF’s 10th chancellor. Having served as Interim Chancellor since April as a successor to Susan Desmond-Hellman, MD, MPH, he has most recently held positions as Dean of the UCSF School of Medicine and Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs. Chancellor Hawgood joined UCSF in 1982 as a research fellow.

Bruce Wintroub, MD, is now serving as Interim Dean for the School of Medicine while a committee searches for a permanent replacement for Chancellor Hawgood. Wintroub joined UCSF in 1982, and since 1985 has been chair of the Department of Dermatology, a position that he will continue to hold during his current appointment.

Carol Takao, PhD, was appointed this September as Executive Director of Student Life. With an extensive background in higher education leadership, Takao most recently was associate director of financial aid at UC Berkeley’s Division of Student Affairs.

Peter Walter, PhD, received the prestigious 2014 Lasker Basic Medical Research Award, also known as the “American Nobel,” for his work on the unfolded protein response. Walter joined the UCSF faculty in 1983 and also recently won the Shaw Prize, Asia’s top scientific honor. Walter shares the Lasker award with Kazutoshi Mori, PhD, of Kyoto University.